History of the Inn
The Greenville Inn traces its history back to 1890, when wealthy lumber baron William Shaw initiated construction of what would be a ten year project of finishing his primary residence.
The home has recently been added to the National Register of Historic Places. It features stunning carved embellishments and paneling, found throughout the structure. It sat atop the hill overlooking the East Cove of Moosehead Lake and the historic steamboats, as seen below. The restored steamboat, the Katahdin, still remains in service today. It continues to grace the view from the Greenville Inn's expansive porches.
You can read more about the process of adding The William Shaw House
to the National Register of Historic Places on the Greenville Inn Blog.
During the early 1920's, the Craft family of Greenville Junction purchased the home.
The next owners, Rockwood's Whitten Family, took over in 1946 and converted the elaborate home into a hotel/inn.
The Atherton family became owner/operators from 1970 until 1972.
The third party to operate the Greenville Inn was the Oddy family. They remained here until 1981, when the Stein family purchased the business.
From 1987, the Schnetzer family, from Columbus, Ohio operated the inn until 2003.
Since 2003, the Johannemann family, from New Jersey, has owned and operated both the inn and the restaurant. Their breakfasts and warm hospitality have delighted their inn guests while their chefs have amazed their diners with unparalleled specialties. Their philosophy is that the Greenville Inn is on loan to them and they are to care for it and rejuvenate it to its majestic excellence. They want to share this "historic beauty" with their guests and at the same time provide them with luxurious elegance mixing the old with the new.